Seven Things to Approve

A tag from Ecky. This is going to be a short one, in line with the up coming Chinese New Year 🙂

  1. Red dresses (Yeah, we need to wear those. Everything inside out will need to be glaring red. My mum is that superstitious)
  2. Money pocket (It used to be fun when I was a single girl, grown ups give money pocket for unmarried souls. Now that I am married, I give them back to the other unmarried souls. Don’t expect too much from me. I am quite tight with money. Anyway, now the money pocket is not fun anymore – it means money flowing right out of my pocket!)
  3. Lion dance (Old but never failed to be loud and fun)
  4. Lanterns (Red paper lanterns are very pretty and decorative)
  5. Plum blossom (Suppose to symbolize luck, I just like them because they are pretty)
  6. Cookies, cakes, sugary drinks (Every house will be filled with overactive toddlers chocked up in carbs)
  7. Mandarin oranges (Most popular fruit item)

It’s my most favourite holiday of the year *sigh*. You are going to hear a lot more about it 🙂
I am tagging only Sandy and Jientje

red1.jpgred2.jpgred4.jpg
red3.jpgred5.jpgred6.jpg

red7.jpg
8 Responses to “Seven Things to Approve”


  1. 1 L B January 18, 2008 at 5:45 pm

    Some years, I didn’t even know Chinese New Year was here! 🙂 Yeah, I suppose it used to be a lot more fun when you were the one collecting the red packets instead of having to give them all away now.. LOL! Oh well, life is a cycle..

  2. 2 tere616 January 19, 2008 at 1:44 am

    Hm .. I like the orange .. it’s a time where I can get sweet orange

  3. 3 andiesummerkiss January 19, 2008 at 5:59 am

    Dear LB,

    It must be quite a drag in Italy during Chinese New Year. I was totally devastated when I was in Adelaide. 🙂 Well, I will be sending tons of CNY wishes from here! 🙂

    Dear Tere616

    You like the orange too? We always get a lot of oranges, sometimes they last for almost 2 months!

  4. 4 colson January 19, 2008 at 12:33 pm

    Don’t know much about Chinese New Year ( once,long ago, my wife and I were very impressed lookers on during the celebrations in Singapore – although nothing outrageous was allowed to happen in the city state).

    Judging by the pictures it will be a spectacular event. I have to admit however that the number four you mentioned (the red lanterns) made me think of a movie “Raise the Red Lantern” by Zhang Yimou -which was not about New Year at all…

  5. 5 adit January 19, 2008 at 5:26 pm

    I like the lantern best. Btw, I noticed that when you visit a Chinese store, you’re likely to find this cat-doll with one paw moving back and forth. What is it call? I like that cat-doll.

  6. 6 Sandy (Momisodes) January 20, 2008 at 4:07 am

    Woohoo! my first chinese new year tag 🙂 okay, I better get on the ball….this needs to be bumped up higher on the meme list 😉 Thanks!

  7. 7 happysurfer January 20, 2008 at 8:56 am

    Yep, red is THE color but these days black seems to be the new red – at least here in Malaysia.

    As for #2, have kids of your own and you’ll get some back. 😉

  8. 8 ecky January 22, 2008 at 9:50 am

    Good stuff Andie. I think I want to wear cheongsam on Chinese New Year, I love cheongsam dress


Leave a Reply

