Public Loo : Cherish or Trash

Public toilet is provided but not usable. The culprits are apparently the users themselves. An interesting theory on the non-existence of hygienic and proper public loo in Indonesia.

During its agrarian years, people did nature calls in the nature, places like river, ditch, woods or in the outhouse. It was then let on to be organically dealt with by the nature itself. In the modern age, people who live in big cities are expected to use public restrooms and to clean up after themselves. Religion also stressed how cleanliness is part of devotion. But till now it has not been absorbed into social practices in daily life.

Excerpt from Kompas 13th January

To clean up after oneself is apparently still a big challenge. Maybe we need to bio-engineer some sort of micro-organism that can flush and pick up the trash, an upgrade of what their ancestor did in the past.

8 Responses to “Public Loo : Cherish or Trash”


  1. 1 colson January 14, 2008 at 3:49 pm

    No, no Andie, you will not trap me here. Not in a ladies room, lavatory, loo or w.c. related subject…

  2. 2 andiesummerkiss January 14, 2008 at 3:59 pm

    Dear Colson,

    LOL. You know, I am thinking of stop writing in this blog all together. I seem to be able to write more intelligently in your blog than this one!

    I am also running out of subjects to write, I could sit in front of the laptop and stared at it for hours before deciding on a topic.

    Please help! I need a lot of help to go through Blog 365. It’s 350 more days to go!!

  3. 3 Jennic January 14, 2008 at 4:59 pm

    It’s not just in Indonesia I’m sure.

    One of the bloggers I used to read wrote about this. In summary, she basically said wherever Asians go, there will be dirty public bathrooms. And I don’t disagree with that one bit.

    We do give ourselves a good name don’t we. (we, not as you and me, but we the general Asian population)

  4. 4 Jientje January 14, 2008 at 5:51 pm

    Hey Andie, don’t stop writing? Tomorrow is another day,
    I had a bit of trouble too today, but I know my muze will be back, probably even before the day is done!
    I’m not on holliday you know, but I realize now one might think so because of that title!

  5. 5 L B January 14, 2008 at 6:02 pm

    I still remember the pit latrines in the older days. I used to be so scared stiff of falling into one of them, perching on top of some rickety wooden planks!! Of course it also doesn’t help if you can’t use your hands to balance yourself, because you need to hold your nose at the same time!

  6. 6 Sandy (Momisodes) January 15, 2008 at 3:54 am

    You can’t stop blogging! I love your blog 😦

  7. 7 Giddy Tiger January 15, 2008 at 8:34 am

    I steer clear of public loos as best as I can.

  8. 8 adit January 15, 2008 at 6:50 pm

    Please don’t stop writing. I love your writings. You have this talent to see things from a unique perspective. If I may suggest, get yourself a copy of “How to Get Ideas” by Jack Foster.

    It’s a nice little book about getting ideas. According to this book, the basic principle to get ideas is to believe that ideas do exist. According to this book, an idea is nothing more nor less than a compilation—a mix and match—a combination of old elements.

    This is my full review of the book:
    http://adit.pancaroba.com/2007/10/31/how-to-get-ideas/

    But pardon me for the poor English of course hehehe…


Leave a Reply

