Words of Wisdom for Wives

I am reading a book by Laura Doyle, The Surrendered Wife. It is such a cute book, full of wisdomised phrases which supposedly will help us wives to get a more fulfilled and peaceful marriage.  I can’t resist to share …

“If you can’t say something nice, don’t say anything at all” – laura doyle’s mom

“Some people find fault as if it were buried treasure” – francis o’walsh

“In marriage, as in nature, water seeks its own level: we marry men who match us” – laura doyle

“You see an awful lot of smart guys with dumb women, but you hardly see a smart woman with a dumb guy” – erica jong

“Try to want what you have, instead of spending your strength trying to get what you want” – abraham l. feinberg

“The only worse thing than a man you can’t control is a man you can” – margo kaufman

“Wisdom is divided into two parts: a) having a great deal to say, and b) not saying it” – anonymous

“I often regret that I have spoken, never that I am silent” – publilius syrus

“You must be the change you wish to see in the world” – mahatma gandhi

“To put the world right in order, we must first put the nation in order; to put the nation in order, we must first put the family in order; to put the family in order, we must first cultivate our personal life; we must first set our hearts right” – confusius

“I praise loudly, I blame softly” – catherine II of russia

“The supreme happiness of life is the conviction that we are loved” – victor hugo 

“A man is already halfway in love with any woman who listens to him” – brendan francis

“Husbands are awkward things to deal with; even keeping them in hot water will not make them tender’ – mary buckley

“Never go to bed angry. Stay up and fight” – phyllis diller

“To love someone deeply gives you strength. Being love by someone deeply gives you courage” – lao tzu

They are all good, if can be put in practice. 🙂

7 Responses to “Words of Wisdom for Wives”


  1. 1 giddy tiger January 9, 2008 at 3:11 pm

    Hehe…stay up and fight…instead of going to bed angry. That’s a good one. I wonder how many of those people who provided the quotes above are married themselves 😛

  2. 2 Sandy (Momisodes) January 9, 2008 at 6:07 pm

    WOW! I have not heard of many of those. I love them all .I just forwarded those to some good friends 🙂 And I’m going to store them for later use! thanks for sharing.

  3. 3 adamswife January 9, 2008 at 8:20 pm

    There is a lot of wisdom in these quotes. I, too, love Phyllis Diller’s advice to “stay up and fight.” And, who knows? maybe she’s right.

  4. 4 adit January 10, 2008 at 12:30 am

    “I praise loudly, I blame softly”

    I think this also be used by the husband to his wife. It is human nature to like praises and be defensive on blames. Lowering our voice when blaming can soften things out.

  5. 5 Ecky January 10, 2008 at 4:10 am

    Husband to wife: I will never cheat

    Wife to husband: Things happens for a reason, include cheating

    Husband to wife: I will always love you no matter what, even though you are fat.

    Husband to wife: Yes, my money is yours too

    Husband to wife: I’m going out honey, I will not come to the place full of women, I will go home at 1am, I will not hitting to any beautiful woman I meet there.

    Wife to husband: I’m going out. Don’t wait up

    Hahaha sorry Andie, I’m just being silly this morning

  6. 6 happysurfer January 11, 2008 at 1:00 pm

    Great quotes, these. Thanks for sharing them.

  7. 7 andiesummerkiss January 12, 2008 at 10:19 am

    Dear Giddy Tiger,

    Urrghhhh I would go …. ARGHHH …..

    Sandy,

    LOL. I am so so glad you like them. Maybe you’ll like the book too. Just don’t let him know that you are reading it.

    Adamswife,

    I always tried to keep fighting. But he chose not to listen and pretend to sleep … 😦

    Adit,

    That’s a great tip. Don’t you think. It’s one of my favourites.

    Ecky,

    I have tons of stories like that too … Such a shame.

    Happysurfer,

    Glad you like them! 🙂


Leave a Reply

