The Five People You Meet in Heaven

I finished Mitch Albom’s book last night (trying to distract myself from the sinful thought – food). It is such a strange book, isn’t it. I didn’t get it at all till the fourth person he met. Then the tears kept on coming. I can’t help crying when reading a good book. I even cried on Harry Potter! I know it’s an old book, and I should have read it already. Now I can’t wait to watch the movie.

The whole book is a story of a man named Eddie. The end is apparently the beginning. He led a mundane life, living in the same apartment where he grew up, working on the same job his father inherited him. Until the end of the day.

When he died, he was arranged by God to meet people who had affected his life the most, but never knew so. It helps to resolve the big questions he has during his lifetime. He regretted the way he lived his life. How he never left, never seen anything, never experience anything. But in the end, he was enlightened that he did make a difference in a lot of people’s life in his unique way and they actually appreciated his efforts and contributions.

It reminds us what really matters here on earth, of what our lives are given to us for. Not to chase the worldly obsession of fame and fortune but simple things as living the life, doing the job can mean much more.

200px-mitchalbom_thefivepeopleyoumeetinheaven.jpg
7 Responses to “The Five People You Meet in Heaven”


  1. 1 venagozar January 6, 2008 at 6:34 am

    I read this book right after it came out. I enjoyed the way he put it together. One of the things not mentioned, and I doubt it could be, and still have the book be a good read, is the people beyond who’s lives he personally changed.

    I remember the people who made a difference in my life, so I step in and give back as I can. What I find wonderful, is one little act of what to us is nothingness, carries on through more than one lifetime.

    Perhaps one day we say something to someone, or help someone in passing. It may have been nothing to us, but it may have been life changing to the person we talked with, or helped. So we changed their life forever and by default all the people they come in contact with, and their children too.

    Thanks for reminding me what a great book it is!

  2. 2 Kimmy January 6, 2008 at 7:33 am

    I really enjoyed hearing what you thought of this book! I’ve heard good things about it from friends, but I tend to stay away from popular reading lists for some reason. Anyways, I think you’ve convinced me that it’s worth the read 🙂 Thank you very much!

  3. 3 L B January 6, 2008 at 7:47 am

    (One of the many reasons I don’t read books is blogging..)

    Sounds like a nice theme. I guess sometimes we don’t pause long enough for the small matters, to appreciate how a butterfly wings’ beating can cause a tsunami on the other side..

  4. 4 Ecky January 6, 2008 at 3:00 pm

    I like Mitch Albom, in fact I’ve read Tuesday with Morrie, The Five People You Meet in Heaven, and For One More Day.

    If you like The Five You Meet in Heaven then you’ll like the others, he always touches my deepest heart and yeah I’m a baby weepper like you, couldn’t stand to not cry to any of touchy stories in books or movies 🙂

  5. 5 Giddy Tiger January 7, 2008 at 3:02 am

    Darn – that’s one more book I have to add to my list of books to read this year. 😛

  6. 6 happysurfer January 7, 2008 at 8:41 am

    Reminds me of a quote that goes something like: To the world, you might be one person; but to someone, you just might be the world.

    I believe nothing happens by chance including the people in our life, right down to the strangers we meet.

    Dear Andie, thanks for the sharing.

  7. 7 tere616 January 12, 2008 at 12:13 am

    You have to read Tuesday with Morie first then For One more day ..
    Compare to Five People You Meet in Heaven and For One More Day, Tuesday with Morie is the best 🙂

    Sounds like a salesman 😀

    Its a good book with a lot of beautiful view of live. If finally you have a chance to read that, please share your thought.


Leave a Reply

