Andie’s Detox Plan

I go overboard every two or three months. I eat whatever in sight. Fried, steamed, stir-fried, boiled, raw, baked. Anything. Easily I overload my body with harmful substances. So detoxification diet is needed to stop the body from getting the harmful substances and give it plenty of nutrients to actually speed up the elimination of old toxins and unwanted waste and promote cell renewal.

The detox diet is split into seven stages, so in a week-long diet, each stage will last one day. It is extremely important to follow the plan in the order because after the liquid stage, it is wise not to overload the digestive system by going back to normal food slowly.

Stage 1 – Liquids only

Water with lemon to neutralize acidity and stimulate bowels, freshly made fruit and vegetable juices, unsweetened spice / herbal teas and broth – made from vegetables simmered in water, the liquid strained and vegetable discarded

706305_33011893.jpg

Stage 2 – Liquid and fruit only

High fiber food are used to help shift some of the decayed material in the intestines. Fruits with detox quality is apples, pineapple, mango, grapes and watermelon.

Stage 3 – Add raw vegetable

Beansprouts and fresh salad

Stage 4 – Add cooked vegetable and brown rice

Vegetables should be cooked for as short a time as possible to retain maximum nutritious value. Steaming and stir-frying are the best methods. Leeks and beetroot are good

Stage 5 – Add lentils, beans, nuts and seeds

Beans and lentils are source of protein but should not be eaten with rice. Mixing carbohydrates and proteins can slow digestion process. Nuts stimulate the flow of bile which in turn speeds up digestion system.

Stage 6 – Add grain

Oats and barley. Help to move wastes through intestines and trace minerals useful for the liver.

Stage 7 – Add fish

Extra oily fish like sardines, tuna and salmon.

We are what we eat. I am on stage one today. Cranky and hungry are the side effects. So, stay away … 😦

6 Responses to “Andie’s Detox Plan”


  1. 1 colson January 5, 2008 at 8:22 am

    Your diet seems not be too bad to me. I may try it because it makes my mouth water. Although, thinking of it: it took a lot of trouble and money to get toxic in the first place…

    But, eh, seriously, this diet thing is like the flu. It’s contagious and it’s periodical. And it is very hard to escape. I guess all but a few of the 17 million citizens of my country are addicted too “Sonja Bakker” – that’s the name of the lady who launched a new kind of diet over here about a year ago. Her name has become a verb; “she sonjabakkert, do you sonjabakker too?” “No, I have not yet started to sonjabakker”.

    But, although scientists and authorities confirm it is an effective diet, I still do see very few aesthetic acceptable fellow countrymen. Usually they are heavily overweight. Like me.

    It is a matter of good citizenship. Today I have to start with liquids only.

  2. 2 L B January 5, 2008 at 8:37 am

    Interesting plan to detox. Hmmm.. maybe I should follow a little? Haha, I am too sinful..I will never be able to have such discipline..

  3. 3 Ecky January 5, 2008 at 2:45 pm

    I think this detox thing will work effectively if only you don’t have to work, because less food intake can create headache and make you weak and tired so your brain can’t function optimally.

  4. 4 Sandy (Momisodes) January 5, 2008 at 5:03 pm

    I need to do this. Like you Andie, I binge too, but it happens at least once a week. Just last week, I ate almost and entire chocolate cake….yes, I need help.

    I look forward to reading more about this as you progress 🙂
    Hope this stage goes quick…I can’t imagine having only liquids…I would be a royal biaaatch!

  5. 5 andiesummerkiss January 6, 2008 at 9:43 am

    Dear Colson,

    I did google on Sonja Bakker, it came up with a whole list of websites all in Dutch. 😦 I did flip through her official website and all I could say is that she is such a pretty lady!

    The main reason I have to detox regularly is because I have Psoriasis. I can’t take pills to cure it so I do drastic changes in my diet. I do some variations on Pagano Diet to suit the local environment and the food available here. I did it a couple of times during the past year and the result is really great. The skin glows and becomes brighter. Of course, during those times I became full time vegan.

    I have strayed, and now have to pay the price. 😦

    Dear LB,

    I managed to did it because my vanity takes control of my mind and body 🙂

    Dear Ecky,

    That is very true, which is why the first stage of the diet has to be on Saturday, when workloads are at the minimum. Tomorrow I will get to eat salad! Yay!!

    Dear Sandy,

    Detox is a lot of pain and even I think it’s important to do it once in a while, I do envy people who can eat whatever they want. And not to have to worry.

  6. 6 happysurfer January 7, 2008 at 7:54 am

    I have friends who suffer from Psoriasis too. Maybe that’s what they need to be doing – detox regularly. Thanks for sharing the process, Andie. It doesn’t look too difficult. 😛 I’ve come across one programme that involves drinking olive oil and something else that sounds yucky. Oops! Hope yours will not come to that?

    Keep it up! We’re all behind you.


Leave a Reply

