The Aftermath

Career in retail-food industry is really great, especially during peak season. The adrenalin and the excitement when we found out that sales prediction for that period is achievable. Even when it means that no shower all day in a hot day, or we don’t get to sit down to rest the feet, no meals all day. There had been grease on my face enough to oil a motorcycle.

But when it’s all over, when we are back to reality, it’s like hell. It’s retail! I can never make a right prediction on packaging, ingredients, materials and the a whole lot of list. I don’t think anybody could get it right! I have got better during the years, I don’t make that much mistakes anymore in ordering what is needed. But still the aftermath is the most dreaded time of my work.

It was so frustrating when I got down to clean up the mess. During the busy days, we didn’t pay that much attention to little details, we just needed the things to get done, and the orders fulfilled. Now, I have to deal with extra baskets, too much Christmas decorations, New Year themed-cardboxes, too much cookies, broken appliances, too much syrups, went overboard on the tinsels, way too many fake poinsettias, Cadbury chocolate, thousands of cookie jars leftover.

I spent all afternoon cleaning up the mess. That’s just one third of the building. As we went through the mess, the more stressed I got. What am I going to do with all these?

Am I going to use these in the next six months? If not, they are going straight into the bin

Are these gonna spoil in one month time? If they are, they are going to be distributed to the staff or maybe giving them away for charity

Are they refundable? If they are, they are going straight back to the supplier

Can I use these again, maybe mess with them a bit and use them again or repackaged and sell as different products?

As for Christmassy and New Year stuff, I just have no choice but to keep them for another 12 months … 😦

I think I need an extra set of brain to figure all these out

02012008003.jpg
02012008004.jpg
02012008005.jpg
02012008006.jpg
02012008007.jpg
7 Responses to “The Aftermath”


  1. 1 L B January 2, 2008 at 4:22 pm

    The Hectic Life of a Busy Entrepreneur! 🙂 With Great Minds, comes Great Responsibilities.. I am sure you’ll cope brilliantly well.

  2. 2 Sandy (Momisodes) January 2, 2008 at 6:04 pm

    Wow, you are one busy woman! Looks like your managing it all very well. I’m one of those that if I don’t have room for it and don’t want to store something for months at a time, I’ll just donate it. Hope the flurried aftermath simmers down soon. 🙂

  3. 3 colson January 2, 2008 at 6:07 pm

    An astonishing transformation did take place; the first picture illustrates the chaotic dynamics of business, the last one the structured order of good management.

    It’s now about time to enjoy the profits.

  4. 4 Jientje January 2, 2008 at 9:41 pm

    I can imagine very well what you mean, I had a store once too!
    Luckily for me, my stuff did not get spoiled, I just had to keep it till next Christmas!

  5. 5 happysurfer January 3, 2008 at 4:26 am

    Come here, you need a hug! *hugs*

    You’ll do great, girl.

  6. 7 andiesummerkiss January 4, 2008 at 3:19 am

    Dear LB,

    Nicely said. Thank you for the confident. It makes me want to yell less …

    Dear Sandy,

    Yes I am one of those too. I like to throw things away. My partners are keepers. So they are not gonna like it when they found out what I did ! 🙂

    Dear Colson,

    I am waiting excitedly for that day to come. Hopefully soon, before Chinese New Year!

    Dear Jientje,

    You owned a store before? We have problems with pests in the packaging storage room. Things always get spoiled. I had to throw away boxes of tinsels from last year because they smelt funny. Yeah I have got to work harder …

    Happysurfer,

    Ooh thank you for the hugs, I feel much better already 🙂

    Dear Giddy Tiger,

    Thank you very much. Have a great weekend!


Leave a Reply

