goofs of nutcracker

In local newspaper last week, there’s a photo featuring the smallest nutcracker in the world. Funnily, it didn’t say nutcracker. It was said ‘pemecah kacang‘ – literal translation of ‘nutcracker’ in Indonesian.

nut1.jpg

nutcracker ala andie

I was like … What?? I thought it was a name of a holiday toy which is a wooden carving of a soldier. Then I found out that the toy originally could be used to crack nuts! Nuts can be put in the big mouth (by lifting the lever at the back of the toy). When the lever was pressed down, the nuts cracked.

nut2.jpg

nutcracker ala steinbach

Nutcrackers are not everyday toys for us. I have never seen them before. So it’s cool that I don’t know anything about them. But the article was kind of misleading in a way. They should explain what it actually is. Why it’s called nutcracker and such and such. Goof readers like me can easily get confused. And I thought the newspaper editors were being stupid.

I think it’s smart to use the soldiers and knights to crack nuts. The nuts eaters like me can feel like royalty ๐Ÿ˜›

3 Responses to “goofs of nutcracker”


  1. 1 Sarcastic Mom December 18, 2007 at 11:36 pm

    I love nutcracker toys. They are so regal.
    Here’s a picture of one that we have on the mantel:
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/thelotuscarroll/2079799496/in/set-72157602427442263/

  2. 2 Sandy (Momisodes) December 19, 2007 at 1:43 am

    YAY! I love the site…I’ve updated your link in my blogroll ๐Ÿ™‚

    I love Nutcrackers!!! When I was a dancer (many many many many years ago)…I performed the Nutcracker Ballet several times..it was my favorite story ๐Ÿ™‚ I love the photos BTW!

  3. 3 cheerfulday December 19, 2007 at 2:09 am

    I got the collection on the wooden carving of toys.. the one that you post is nice


Leave a Reply

