me, my finger and a mercedes

This is a story of a girl, a finger and a car.

16122007003.jpg

Exactly 15 months ago, I went on a business trip to Singapore with my mother. At night we were invited to dinner by her cousin. They came to pick us up in an S Class Mercedes. When I was getting off the car, I didn’t want to slam it too hard because it was such a fancy car, so I closed it slowly. As stupid as it sound, my left hand pointy finger got caught! The car door has some kind of suction feature, even I didn’t slam it, as soon as it was closed, the door was sucked into place, with part of my nail still in between. Then without shouting, I pulled my finger out. It hurt a bit, so I wasn’t too worried. The parking place was pitch dark and I couldn’t see anything.

When we got to the restaurant, I noticed that my finger felt warm. When I looked down, my blood was everywhere, dripping from my fingernail. It turned out that when I pulled my finger out of the door, I also pulled my nail. So it was half way off and bled like hell!

I excused myself and told them I was going to look for a pharmacy to get a band-aid. At the pharmacy, they said I should go to a hospital. Then I got on a taxi, headed to the Singapore General Hospital, ER section. They put me in a waiting room with two other people. They also had funny and weird accidents. We chatted and laughed the whole night. One guy was kicked on the head during football match because he was bending down to tie shoe lace and also bled. One Indian girl got broken toes because her sister slammed a suitcase on her feet. And then myself with my fancy accident. We were the cheeriest lot in the whole hospital!

They made us waited for 4 hours. My accident happened at 8pm. When finally I got into surgery room, it’s almost 1am and the blood had dried out.

I was assigned to a young hand surgeon. He performed the surgery on my finger, took out the nail and stitched the wound so nicely. It is such a cool hospital with cool young doctors. It wasn’t expensive at all. But of course the waiting was a bit too much.

The nail grew back great four months after, just as he promised. Then I was given a Mercedes on the same month. Cool huh. What a coincidence!

16122007001.jpg

Next year I am planning to slam my hand on a different car. Any idea what kind of car? šŸ™‚

8 Responses to “me, my finger and a mercedes”


  1. 1 L B December 16, 2007 at 11:26 am

    Eh? What is happening? šŸ™‚ Er? Blur blur, a bit…

  2. 2 andiesummerkiss December 16, 2007 at 11:48 am

    LOL. Don’t be confused.

    I am moving. To a more mature address. Tried exporting everything, but I guess I left some new comments behind. Weird huh.

    But I am quite proud that I managed to move almost all. šŸ™‚

  3. 3 Average Jane December 16, 2007 at 12:39 pm

    Definitely slam your hand in a Porsche next time!

  4. 4 happysurfer December 16, 2007 at 2:13 pm

    Yep! My comment got left behind. šŸ˜¦

    So, when’s the house-warming, eh? lol

  5. 5 mp December 17, 2007 at 2:31 am

    Rambutan?? never heard of it? The picture of it is awesome though..and the colors on the villiage shot..great!!

  6. 6 andiesummerkiss December 17, 2007 at 10:28 am

    Dear Average Jane,

    As I was telling happysurfer, for a car that fancy, I am afraid I would have to lose a whole hand! šŸ™‚

    Happysurfer,

    “Blog” warming will be very hear in the future … šŸ™‚

    Mp,

    WordPress is kinda mess up huh. Some other comments also turned up at the wrong posts. Anyway, I will post something on rambutan soon … since others asked what they were too.

  7. 7 rachel December 17, 2007 at 3:35 pm

    LOL! Poor finger, that gave me the willies just reading it.
    Brave woman, I would have probably been pitching a hissy if I’d ripped my nail off!
    Beautiful car.
    Try for a new Lexus next time? LOL.


Leave a Reply

