most ridiculous crime of the year

Ever heard of a plant called anthurium? Local website listed anthurium can be found here.

It all started when mum innocently bought a couple of small anthurium a couple of years ago, and without realising, they had turned into great looking plants. Lucky for her, the craze over the species has increased the price of the plants like gold (I’d say). Somebody approached her and made an offer. She sold both plants for USD 2,000. (that was a very good ROI, she paid USD 10 for both plants)

dsc_0062.jpg

Mum’s Anthurium plants (brown pots) on display at the plant exhibition

After selling her plants, she was given a couple of smaller plants by the buyer as thank you present. I bet he sold it for far a lot more than his buying price.

Anyway, mum planted the new small anthurium in a pot, placed outside our main door. Two days ago, it got stolen. Our guess is that the thief climbed the gate and took the plant, and climbed back out. Everything else was left untouched.

dsc_0068.jpg

the stolen plant

Who would steal a plant? It is such a crazy obsession over anthurium here. Seriously. This website listed the selling price of a fully grown plant is IDR 37,5m (equivalent of USD 4,000). Anyway, it is a dangerous bet. People who buy those expensive plants expect to sell the seeds and baby plants to nurseries or new fans. But how can anyone tell when Christmas is over?

This was the third attempt trying to steal my mum’s precious plants. The first and second one happened a couple of months ago, before she sold the big ones. They did it in broad day light both times! My dad who was at home at the time screamed and they climbed out the gate and ran.

I guess they got it, finally. I am quite relief that it’s gone. Nothing is worth a couple of silly plants, right. Weird, weird, weird …

10 Responses to “most ridiculous crime of the year”


  1. 1 LB November 27, 2007 at 5:56 pm

    WOW! I am astounded!! First, by the price, and then by the theft!! OMG!!

    Andie : Impressive, isn’t it? They shocked me as well. D had not believed until they came to pick the plants up and paid cash for them.

  2. 2 Libby November 27, 2007 at 6:25 pm

    Andie, was the plant stolen under the cover of darkness during the blackout? If so, perhaps you could take up the issue of reimbursement with the local authorities? πŸ˜‰

    Andie : Yes, they were stolen around night time and it was one of the blackouts.

    Local authorities? I am not sure they will be all that helpful. We don’t associate with them as much as we can help it … πŸ™‚

    It’s a different kinda world here

  3. 3 MP November 27, 2007 at 6:42 pm

    That is CRAZY!! Those look VERY similar to the plants that we purchase and send to funeral parlors when someone dies..I can’t believe that someone would steal them..OR that they sell for so much!! WOW (they are very pretty)

    Andie : There are a lot of species of anthurium. I have a couple of theories of how it happened in the first place (the price surge).

    The seller warned my mother not to leave them on the garden.

  4. 4 Nancy November 27, 2007 at 7:23 pm

    Amazing. I remember a time in the late 70’s in Houston, Texas when houseplants were SO popular that people would steal them off people’s porches. But it didn’t last long. I’m going to go see if I can find a cheap Anthurium around here before the sellers find out how much they’re worth! πŸ˜€

    Andie : I hope you’d find some good ones. Even they don’t increase in price, they are quite exotic. I think that kind of craziness only happens here.

  5. 5 momisodes November 28, 2007 at 3:47 am

    That is terrible!

    I’m not sure why I’m slaving over my computer for work…I need to start digging in the dirt and planting these (surrounded with barbed wire of course).

    Andie : LOL. You are really funny, Sandy. I laughed and laughed and laughed … Don’t stop writing for gardening. You are very good writer .. I would be sad if you go off slaving over anthurium! πŸ˜€

  6. 6 happysurfer November 28, 2007 at 7:41 am

    But why are they so high-priced? They are very common here. Most households have them. The ones that get stolen here are bonsai plants mostly.

    You mom may want to keep them indoors the next time just like our shoe-racks are kept indoors as good shoes do get stolen. A neighbour young lady complained about her bras being stolen from her clothesline. Seriously!

    Andie : They are high priced because people made them. They could be exotic and all, but they are just plants. No healing power, not edible, nothing.

    Maybe a lot of people are bra-less? And her bras are collectible items? LOL.

  7. 7 edison November 28, 2007 at 9:04 am

    Good job andie

    Andie : Thanks, cous!

  8. 8 Pinkpanther November 28, 2007 at 9:40 am

    It is really weird thief stole your plant only. {L.O.L.}

    Hey, how come you guys didn’t realize the thief in your house?

    Andie : Sorry I wasn’t being very clear. The plant was stolen at night (we think), mum found out the next morning. Plus, the plant was at the porch and our gate are kinda low, so it’s not gonna be a problem to climb it.. πŸ˜€

  9. 9 Matilde November 28, 2007 at 7:01 pm

    I’m more surprised about the price. I live in the city and people take plants off porches all the time. Heck, they “steal” stuff out of dumpsters. Maybe it was the guy who bought the plants in the first place… I mean, how many people know how valuable they are.

    BTS, tagged you for a meme.

    Andie : Hey thanks for the meme! I am kinda having trouble for the posts .. πŸ˜›

  10. 10 Jientje November 29, 2007 at 7:01 pm

    You’re welcome, thanks for visiting my new blog!
    Whenever I think Belgium is a trange country with weird people in it sometimes, well, reading your blog makes me change my mind!
    Putting people in complete darkness?
    Stealing plants?
    What else?


Leave a Reply

