andie’s weekly winners

I am joining this week’s weekly winners by Sarcastic Mom.

These are my shots, they are a bit out of this world, I know. But it’s everyday life in this part of the world.

blackwhite.jpg
Old Batak men waiting for meal – Tarutung (about 6 hour drive from Medan)

view.jpg
Typical village view in Sumatra, with terrace-rice paddy fields (Tarutung)

lake.jpg
View of Lake Toba, North Sumatra – otw to Tarutung

village.jpg
Friends and family waiting for the wedding ceremony ala Batak (Tarutung)

shopping.jpg
Auntie Cindy shopping for fruit at traditional street-side market (Kabanjahe)

breakfast1.jpg
Typical breakfast scene at home

fishpond.jpg

Our fish pond

 

11 Responses to “andie’s weekly winners”


  1. 1 Sarcastic Mom November 24, 2007 at 7:15 pm

    I’m really glad you joined Weekly Winners – your photos are excellent! I really like the first one, and the village view and the lake take my breath away.

    Don’t forget to come to my site and post a link to your weekly winners post once I have mine up on Sunday! (it’s still Saturday here right now, of course) 😀

    Andie : You like the old Batak men? I should have taken shots of the food served. They shocked me! I hesitated for a bit there, didn’t want them to think I was rude or anything, taking pictures of people eating. LOL.

  2. 2 Jientje November 25, 2007 at 6:46 am

    Nice pitures, I love the breakfast scene, in black and white!

    Andie : I never thought that it would be that special .. Thank you!

  3. 3 tiffany November 25, 2007 at 11:00 am

    Your photos are wonderful, so colourful and cultural. Amazing.
    Thank you so much for sharing.

    Andie : I am so so glad you all love them! Thank you so much for stopping by 🙂

  4. 4 mountainmama November 25, 2007 at 11:15 am

    Yes, the shot of the old Batak men works for me, too – the B&W focuses the attention on their expressions, wary and guarded. Great photos!

  5. 5 Libby November 25, 2007 at 3:56 pm

    These are terrific, Andie, really fabulous captures! I like the photo of the street market, all that produce on the concrete makes for an interesting contrast.

  6. 6 Secret Agent Mama November 25, 2007 at 4:03 pm

    WOW. Just. WOW. I love, love, love your photography. Can’t wait to see what you have for us next week. Mine are of my home life, check them out if you can.

    Andie : I will definately check yours out. Thanks for the comment!

  7. 7 Nancy November 25, 2007 at 4:24 pm

    Wonderful group of photos, andie. The landscapes are amazing but it’s also good that you included those ‘slice of life’ scenes. My favorite is probably the breakfast table. An unexpected shot of what is usually thought of as too simple to be interesting, is always interesting to me!

    Andie : Yeah, that one was a bit weird, I was fooling around with the knobs in the camera. I don’t know a thing about photography. LoL

    My brother has a fancy camera. I guess it’s now mine 🙂

  8. 8 Maggie November 25, 2007 at 6:52 pm

    Wow, really nice. I feel like I’ve visited a place I’ve always wanted to see, but I’m still in my pajamas in front of my monitor. Beautiful pics!

    Andie : Glad you liked them. They are quite interesting places.

  9. 9 mp November 25, 2007 at 7:45 pm

    Beautiful photos..I especially love the old men, the breakfast scene and the people getting ready for the wedding..the colors!!!

    The lake is especially beautiful. I am now going to read more of your blog to find out who you are and your story! Amazing!

    Andie : The wedding was a bit surreal for me too, I don’t normally go to weddings like that, especially the ones six hours away from the city.

    We drove for 12 hours back and forth, only for a 30 min meal. 🙂 I am glad we took a camera, otherwise it would have been pretty pointless trip, not being able to capture it in a solid way.

  10. 10 Kelly November 25, 2007 at 11:46 pm

    Such wonderfully interesting shots. Thanks for joining! I’m looking forward to next week.

    Andie : Really glad you like it! I will stop by your blog next week to check out your shots!

  11. 11 Carrie November 26, 2007 at 1:23 am

    I love the street side market and your fish pond… great pictures!

    Andie : I will be sure to tell my auntie, that her shopping trip has been an inspirational one!


Leave a Reply

