story of PET

Hi. I am Polyethylene Terephthalate aka PET. I am the most popular product of modern instant-lifestyle after a mobile phone. You hold me in the left hand, and a mobile phone in the right hand. I am a single-used water bottle container. Everybody in the world should have at least 3 bottles of 600ml water a day. Do the math of how much of us are used each day if everybody drinks water as much as they are supposed to. Even if they don’t, that is a lot of us.

After you finish drinking the water, I will be thrown in the trash. The average time of me sitting in the supermarket shelves till the time I am thrown away is 3 hours. After that, I will have to wait to be burned away with the other trash. Even then, I produce toxic smoke when burnt. That is bad news for the ozone. Yes, I help creating green house gases. If they don’t incinerate me, I will sit in the landfill and refuse to degrade for 700 years! Poor me.

If you recycle me, I can be made into carpet, t-shirt, sweater, even bath sponges and a lot of other home products. I can actually be reused, if stored correctly, washed and dried between uses. If you want to be safe, you can sanitize me by diluting 1 teaspoon of bleach, 1 teaspon of baking soda in 1 quart of water. Let the solution to sit in me overnight, and then thoroughly rince and dry me. I am all new again!

pet.jpg

If you really want to help, you can refill your drinking water in pretty and stylish water containers before leaving your home everyday. That will save your money and help the  environment!

Thanks, guys.

By the way, you can treat my brothers, the aluminium soda cans and beer glass bottle the same way. 🙂  

3 Responses to “story of PET”


  1. 1 sweetisu November 21, 2007 at 4:35 pm

    This is such a great post. You should submit it to websites that are geared toward recycling, going green, environmentally friendly, etc. It’s an awesome article and really would make people realize they need to make a change, one person at a time.

    btw, the “safe” link is broken.

    Andie : OMG. Thanks!

  2. 2 LB November 21, 2007 at 5:38 pm

    I agree with sweetisu above. Excellent Green awareness topic. Should be mandatory not just in schools, but for everyone..

    Andie : Thank you! Glad that you all agree with me

  3. 3 happysurfer November 22, 2007 at 6:46 am

    Great post for awareness. Malaysia is soon making it compulsory for trash to be separated for recycling. This is a great move as too much trash goes into landfills instead of being recycled.

    Andie : Again, I am so glad there are others who actually agreed with me. All this time I am just yacking by myself and people think it’s silly that I even concerned about these issues. 🙂


Leave a Reply

