mum’s birthday

Tomorrow is my mother’s birthday.

I got her a gift hamper with her favourite stuff (that I can actually afford, she has expensive taste).Β 

mumbday.jpg

 

I am still puzzled at the fact that the older you get, the less important birthdays seem to be. Which supposed to be the other way around, don’t you think. If we live for 80 years, the least important birthdays are going to be the 1st birthdays, the 21st birthdays and maybe, the 30th birthdays. Because you still have 79 birthdays, 59 birthdays, 50 birthdays to go respectively. Don’t you think the most important birthdays will be the 50th birthdays onwards?

But maybe that has got something to do with the fact that the older we get, the less things in life that we are celebrating for? That’s quite sad.

5 Responses to “mum’s birthday”


  1. 1 LB November 21, 2007 at 5:36 pm

    Happy Birthday to your Mom!! Treasure her, love her, kiss her, hug her, make her happy!! She’s the only Mom you got..

    Andie : Thank you!

  2. 2 momisodes November 21, 2007 at 8:45 pm

    Happy Birthday to your Mom! That looks like a wonderful gift basket full of goodies! I love those chocolates πŸ™‚

    I think that as you get older, you learn to see the world differently and tend to treasure the less tangible things . So when you’re 95, it’s all about having your family and loved ones around, versus when you’re 5 yrs old, it’s all about the toys πŸ™‚

    Andie : Yeah, I agree with you. As for me, I still treasure tangible things … LOL

  3. 3 happysurfer November 22, 2007 at 6:33 am

    Happy Birthday to your Mom and many, many happy returns of the day.

    Andie : Thank you so so much. πŸ™‚

  4. 4 Chen November 23, 2007 at 12:00 pm

    Happy Birthday to your mum.
    Yeah, the older we get, the less important birthdays seem to be.
    I don’t really bother about celebrating my birthday πŸ™‚

    Andie : Yeah, me neither. But I love getting birthday presents. Does that count? LOL

  5. 5 mp November 25, 2007 at 7:48 pm

    this got me to thinking..maybe when we are younger our attitude is, “wooo I made it to the 21 milestone or 30 milestone..lets celebrate” Then as we get older we have the confidence that we KNOW we’re going to make it from 40 to 41..and it’s just another day, no need to celebrate…then we start celebrating again when we hit 75, 80, 90 and 100 because it’s again like, “woooo I made it to the milestone!!”… mabye???

    Andie : Yes, you really hit the point right there. Thanks for the comment


Leave a Reply

