career in domestic department

House-work is very simple for those of us who don’t normally do them. We thought that going out to work and actually earn a living is much harder and we should be getting credits to be able to pull it off. I did think that way for a while, until we moved out of my parents’ house and lived by ourselves.

I went to work in the morning and came back in the evening, I had to make dinner, then had dinner together, and then wash the dishes. After all that, I had to do the laundry. While waiting for the laundry, I did the ironing. Then dealt with the wet clothes. That alone take up to four hours in the evening. When we left in the morning for work, I would still be tired. In the evening, I would come home and the whole routine started all over. That was not a pleasant period of my life. And the dishes, oh I hate those the most!

dishes.jpg

andie’s most hated housework

I have new respect for women who stay home, take care of the house and the children without any helps. That is the hardest career in my opinion, it is so not easy to do that. I think a lot of women can go out and get a job easily (putting aside whether or not she is successful in that job), but not a lot of us can become good home-makers. It takes a lot of hard work, long hour, creativity and also patience. I lack of all those. I think I will need to buy this book, Home Comfort. It comes highly recommended by some women magazine I read not long ago. Maybe after reading that, I will enjoy doing my bed, cleaning the toilet and a lot more!

3 Responses to “career in domestic department”


  1. 1 sweetisu November 21, 2007 at 4:38 pm

    I’m not one of those who are good either. But I do it because I think it is the best choice possible, and because the kids are young only once, and because I would rather me shouting at the kids about fighting than someone else. 😉

    Yea.. housework is hard. How I wish I can hire someone easily like back home!

    Andie : But there is a satisfaction in doing it. It feels great. You would appreciate clean crisp bed sheet made by yourself more than if it was fixed by somebody else .. 🙂

  2. 2 LB November 21, 2007 at 5:40 pm

    Hard working, but totally satisfying!!

    Andie : Yes yes yes. Totally agree with you. 🙂

  3. 3 LB November 21, 2007 at 5:42 pm

    I know I am not in a position to boast out too loud, but whenever I finally get the whole house properly mopped and vacuumed and spanking clean, I feel this great sense of peace and achievement! LOL, ok, I don’t do that often..

    Andie : Yes yes yes again .. It’s ok not to clean often, kinda makes those times really really special .. (yes, I can’t pull that excuse off with my mum – I tried, didn’t work). She would rather I clean every hour after myself 😦


Leave a Reply

