for the love of wasp !

My husband (let’s call him D) loves old wasps. Not the bug. Piaggio’s Vespas. He collects them also rides around town. If you see a white guy scooting around in an old scooter here, it’s him.

For me, not so much. I don’t even know how to ride a bike! (yup, do judge me if you want, but I tried, it didn’t work). When I was little, Pai tried to teach me how to ride a bike, she held the bike when I paddled away, fell everytime. She gave up, so did I.

I had no idea Vespas are such a big a deal. Anyway .. D has soft spot for Congo Vespas. In 1960, Indonesian government sent peace-keeping troops to Congo. When the soldiers came back, they were given given a Vespa each. It is the 1961 type with big round light. This is what triggered the fanatic movement of scooter lovers across the country. So the Congo Vespa is most specifically only applied in Indonesia. I have not heard it anywhere else.

He got two of the Congos and one Tsunami Vespa. The last one has quite a history, an Aceh family of 4 survived the 2002 tsunami by running away from the tidal waves on this particular vespa to the higher ground. D bought it from the family, they upgraded the ride to a Honda bike. 

tsunamivespa.jpg

D and the tsunami vespa

dsc_0047.jpg

D and the congos

 

6 Responses to “for the love of wasp !”


  1. 1 LB November 18, 2007 at 1:51 pm

    There are many Vespas here too, in Italy, as you can imagine, and I’ve always wanted to get one, but never have gotten round to it! But, I love the look of your compound even more! Very chic!

    Andie : Yeah, I guess they are alright. I used to hate them. They were the weirdest rides (in my opinion) .. They are kinda cool now. 🙂

  2. 2 momisodes November 18, 2007 at 2:37 pm

    Wow! When I lived on Miami Beach, I always wanted to try one of these, but never got around to it. They look like so much fun 🙂

    Oh,…Please feel free to tag me! Tag, Tag, Tag away! The tag posts are giving me great material for NaBloPoMo…..there are still many, many days left this month 🙂

    Andie : You are such a good sport! I think I am going to make you my tag buddy for the rest of nabloblabla month!

  3. 3 Sarcastic Mom November 19, 2007 at 2:38 am

    Lovely vespas. I’ve never ridden one, but they look like fun.

    Andie : Yeah, neither did I. Hmm .. Wait, I did ride on it. It was our wedding day. He said we would just take photo together. but he lied. He scooted away on the street with me on the back seat, really fast. I screamed and screamed and screamed ….

    Never again, I can tell you that..

  4. 4 Mitsu November 19, 2007 at 7:52 pm

    Sweet! Those scooters look like fun to ride. I haven’t bought one, considering I have no place to store it in the winter.
    On another thought, maybe you should try learning to ride a bike again. I just learned this June, at age 22, and now I ride my bike almost everywhere. There are a lot of sites that can help an adult learn, and believe me, it’s much easier now, when you have a better sense of balance and more control, than as a little kid!

    Andie : LOL. I am sure you are right. I will give it a try again one of these days … Will keep you posted!

  5. 5 Erika November 21, 2007 at 9:02 am

    Hi, I am a new reader to your blog, just found you on Bleeding Espresso!! I love this story – you have written it in such a wonderfully personal way, that I can picture you on your bike, teetering & tottering along. I remember having to use training wheels for a long long long long long long time, with several bruises on my knees 🙂 I look forward to reading your other posts.
    Erika
    of Sweet Pea blog http://www.asweetpea.wordpress.com

    Andie : Thank you so much. It’s such a nice thing to say .. But I doubt it I would ride on the bikes soon … LOL


  1. 1 Looking Back 5 Times « goofy andie Trackback on November 24, 2007 at 1:48 pm

Leave a Reply

