what could I have done in 5 hours

I spent 5 hours in the hairdresser this afternoon. Sounded a bit too much, isn’t it. I don’t understand why they can’t work faster. What’s so difficult with a bit of haircut and some perm? Surely it doesn’t need to be more than 2 hours.

When I was sitting on the chair, I listed all the things I could have done, if I have chosen to use my time more productively :

  • Prepare dinner party for 8
  • Finish reading the book that has been sitting on the night stand for almost two weeks now – Robert Stevenson’s Treasure Island
  • Fly to Penang, have ais kacang and back
  • Bake chocolate chip cookies and sell them
  • Take beauty nap, watch House, and go back to sleep
  • Prepare my monthly reports for work all the way to next June’s
  • Shop for two month’s supply worth of grocery
  • Do laundry and ironing for the whole street (we don’t have that many neighbours)
  • Yoga, swimming and jogging
  • Put a new paint coat on my bedroom wall

Instead, I do this

chair.jpg

And stare at this

 coffee.jpg

for 5 hours! Of course I won’t normally do the things I just listed above (LOL), but still …

4 Responses to “what could I have done in 5 hours”


  1. 1 LB November 16, 2007 at 5:32 pm

    It’s always good to at least have a list! That is an accomplishment!

    ps: Nice watch! Nice shoes..

    Andie : You must be the coolest guy ever! No guys ever compliment my shoes ! Thanks LB

  2. 2 sweetisu November 16, 2007 at 6:15 pm

    I want to see the hair! Show us the hair!!! 😀

    Your other post.. That’s the one nice thing about living in Asia. If you aren’t dirt poor, you get house chore help for quite cheap. And childcare. And garden. I didn’t have any of that but my friends do/did!

    Andie : No …. I am not ready to show the hair … 😛

  3. 3 momisodes November 16, 2007 at 6:51 pm

    I want to see the hair too!!! 🙂

    Thanks so much for stopping by Momisodes…. I look forward to returning here too.

    Like “LB” said….at least you completed a list. That’s an accomplishment alone. I keep mental lists- probably why I never seem to get everything done.

    Andie : Noo ….. Not the hair … Not yet .. LOL

    I love mental lists – nobody ever knows whether I do any of them or not

  4. 4 happysurfer November 18, 2007 at 7:07 am

    Yep! I think five hours of being in the salon warrants you showing us your hair. lol Just kidding.

    Andie : The first few weeks of a new hair cut is really the ugliest time! Seriously.

    It looked out of this world and totally not connected to the shape of the face! So, it’s not very attractive now .. LOL.


Leave a Reply

