working lunch

My most favourite time of the day is lunch time (yes, I like to eat). I am not the type of girl who can forget about meal time once get absorbed at work. I plan my lunch around 10 am. Have to eat at 12 am sharp, or at least 1 pm. Above that, I will not have energy to even answer my phone. People find that such a weird and annoying habit!

It started when I worked at a local bank years ago. We had one and half hour lunch break everyday starting at 12 am sharp. Lunch is a social ritual, as a form of between-work entertainment. We always had large meal at lunch as it is more appropriate than big supper. Not only the meal was large, we also dined in a group of 20. Those were the good times.

Now working on my own, it’s difficult to find lunch buddies. I am so lucky if can find two! Having meal with staff is not that fun, it’s an obligation. They feel like choking on their food any moment (just like how I felt when I had lunch with my boss on my previous job). 

Most of the time I have lunch with my cousins. The only good thing now is that I can take as long as I want. I don’t have to go back to work if I don’t want to (ok, I hope nobody I work with read this).

When I can’t find anybody who is free, I will have to eat alone in the office. It happens more frequently these days. This is my lunch looks like when no lunch buddy around. They always fix me big lunches from home. I still get the big energy lunch on time, just not the entertainment ..

dsc_0279.jpg

 andie’s lunch for one

3 Responses to “working lunch”


  1. 1 LB November 14, 2007 at 6:18 pm

    That’s a nice array of good food.. neatly packed.. I like.. In fact, I am suddenly so hungry now!! Dinnertime.. must go make some fried chicken with rice.. Want?

    Andie : So it is true that your favourite food is fried chicken .. Interesting 🙂

  2. 2 Mitsu November 15, 2007 at 9:15 pm

    Wow, I like the look of that Bento box…I wish i could make lunches that look that nice.

    Andie : Thanks, Mitsu! I definitely don’t make that. That’s from home 🙂
    If you are nearby, I would send you some too

  3. 3 happysurfer November 16, 2007 at 4:12 am

    You have lunch fixed for you? Some people have all the luck!

    Andie : Yes, I think you are right. I am quite lucky. I don’t mind sharing my lunch with you if you are near by too. 🙂
    But you would not want me to cook for you. I am a lousy cook. 😦


Leave a Reply

