beer = pee : andie’s goofy moment

beer1.jpg

I am a beer girl. I love drinking beer. Ale, lager, light and all. There is nothing more invigorating than a glass of fresh cold frothy beer to cap up a busy day at work. But every time I have beer, repeated visits to the ladies are unavoidable. For one bottle of 600ml beer, I will have to pee twice in average. It is fine when I am in the comfort of my home, watching tv on pizza and beer night. On Friday night out, that is a bit annoying for me and maybe also for my friends.

I also realised that it is not my fault, I just can’t help it. When we take on or lose water or other liquid solutions in our body, it changes the concentration levels of our blood. The mechanism of our bodies produce a certain kind of hormone called ADH (anti-diuretic hormone) to regulate it. ADH will then travels to kidneys and inserting proteins (called aquaporins) which increases the concentration of the urine, whilst decreasing concentration of the blood.

What this means is with more ADH, you produce small volumes of very concentrated urine. With less ADH, you produce copious quantities of dilute urine. – courtesy of Null Hypothesis.

 Alcohol and caffeine inhibit the release of ADH. Therefore, the production of ADH is inhibited. That is the answer to my question why I always have full bladder after drinking! Isn’t science great?

Cheers !

3 Responses to “beer = pee : andie’s goofy moment”


  1. 1 LB November 11, 2007 at 12:20 pm

    LOL! How educational! Now I know why I had to go to the Gents every 5 mins or so when I was out with the lads on Fridays nights!

    Andie : You have that problem too? LOL. We need something to make it stop happening! It’s ruining Friday nights!

  2. 2 happysurfer November 12, 2007 at 2:11 am

    And you forgot to mention the part about how the mid-section bloats up too. lol. Thanks for the science lesson.

    Andie : Yeah, that’s the most serious effect .. *checking my belly*

  3. 3 LB November 12, 2007 at 10:56 pm

    LOL! Yeah, I forgot the belly bits!!!


Leave a Reply

