Judge of Character : Indian Way

I went out to lunch with my staff from work today. Since most of them asked for vegetarian food, I offered to go to a famous Indian restaurant which I have never been. I thought it would be a good experience for everybody, because I know they have never been to any real Indian food, let alone Indian restaurants. I have always loved Indian restaurants, they display lots of trinkets and stuff on the wall and the tables, even the ceilings are full of artistic display of Indian crafts! Love it!

The moment we walked into the restaurant, burst of spices smell hit us right on the nose. Yumm .. I was thinking. When I looked at them, they had strange look on their face. Then, when they heard the music playing, they stared at each other, trying to stifle a laugh.

I started to order quickly, trying to pick the most “neutral” dish I could find on the menu. They were so uncomfortable with the place, they made me uneasy as well. When the food came, they actually squinted on the smell. The whole lunch was a disaster, I had to finish everything because they just took a bite of everything and then stopped, claiming they had enough.

I can’t blame them, they have not been exposed to other culture than ours. That makes them very susceptible to culture shock. But what’s life without a little adventure? Nevertheless, I know who NOT to ask when I am craving for Mongolian-style roast lamb!

That experience makes me feel very thankful for my parents and husband. My parents took us travelling to other countries since we were very young. My husband shows me his western way of thinking. They made me who I am today.   

1 Response to “Judge of Character : Indian Way”


  1. 1 LB November 10, 2007 at 4:23 pm

    Can’t blame them, eh? LOL.. ok, next time, invite me, ok? 🙂

    Andie : Ok, I will definitely keep that in mind. 😛


Leave a Reply

