vegemite’s goofy moment

First morning in Adelaide, Australia, I woke up feeling strange and cold. It was beginning of August 1997 and I just arrived the day before. Feeling hungry and out of place, I had shower and changed to jeans and tshirt then headed to the kitchen for breakfast.

At the dining table, I met two other girls, both from Taiwan (can’t remember their names now) also getting ready for breakfast. One girl handed me two slices of toast. After saying thank you, I reached for the spread. There were cheese spread, peanut butter, strawberry and brownish colour spread. Thinking the later one was chocolate spread (kind of like Nutella / some other hazelnut chocolate spread), I took spoonful of it and spreaded it generously on my toast. The other girls were just staring. One actually asked,” Do you like that?”. I just nooded and smiled, immediately took a bite.

Yuck … I spat it out right away. The girls smiled. And I grabbed the bottle and checked the writing on it. KRAFT VEGEMITE. Hmm .. ok. What is it?

vegemite175.jpg

Later I found out that it is SO not chocolate. Vegemite is a by product of beer, made from yeast extract turned into food paste. Taste very strange, bitter and salty. Even after knowing that it is rich in Vitamin B, I never eat that. The taste is too strange for me.

The Vegemite Website gives out various recipes to, I think, make Vegemite popular for international market. I would never imagine the taste of it to be anything other than the way it is now.

I was told that marmite of New Zealand is a bit sweeter and might be palatable. Well, maybe one day I might.

3 Responses to “vegemite’s goofy moment”


  1. 1 AdsenseMoney November 9, 2007 at 10:31 am

    interesting post

    Andie : Thanks. Glad you liked it. All my posts are strange. It’s exercise to keep the ideas flowing 🙂

  2. 2 happysurfer November 11, 2007 at 5:18 am

    I haven’t come across Vegemite here but we do have Marmite and Bovril and yes, people do spread them on bread though I prefer them in steaming hot rice porridge. Try it. You might like it.

    Andie : Oh, that’s a great tip. I will try it soon .. as soon as I can find some here in Medan 😛 Thanks for the comment.

  3. 3 Dog training November 27, 2007 at 1:52 pm

    Very interesting… as always! Cheers from -Switzerland-.


Leave a Reply

