Handwriting and Character

You have a pen in hand but you are showing something of your own character. The very style of one handwriting is an element in the determination of character. The way in which a man dashes of a letter is very much the way in which a man uses his voice. There is a modulated ease in the tones of the handwriting. Without professing to be experts like Messrs. Chabot and Netherclift, we can certainly gather a general idea of character from the handwriting. A minister was commenting on a very strong dispatch in the presence of his sovereign. “The language is strong” said the statement. “but the writer does not mean it; he is irresolute.” “Whence do you see irresolution?” said the King. “In his n‘s and g‘s, please your Majesty.” Only it is to be said that a great deal of humbug is often talked by people who profess to be judges of handwriting. I showed a professor of calligraphy a letter which I had received. He took a very unfavorable view of the handwriting. It was the handwriting of a man without learning, without genius, without feeling. “And now, Sir,” I said, “will you look at the signature?” The letter was written by Lord Macaulay. – London Society

From The New York Times , Published January 23, 1881

lordmacaulay.jpg

Lord Macaulay was a nineteenth century English poet, historian, politician and Member of Parliament, who wrote extensively as an essayist and reviewer, and on British history.

I had a difficult time today in accessing some cash reports handed in by administrative staff, prompted me to do some quick research on the topic. Some of the handwritings I encountered with today was quite illegible. It is rather upsetting to see how ones can be ingnorant and not realizing that when work to be handed to employer has to reflect the very best, if not in content, most certainly in appearance.

Maybe the article quoted above did prove that handwriting and character were believed to be irrelevant in judging one’s character. But in my personal view, it does. Handwriting says a lot on somone’s self expression, aside from the fact that this particular skill will be obsolete in fifty year’s time, with the falling prices of personal computer and printers. If one cannot express oneself clearly in simple handwritten notes, what else is there to be said? Written language along with spoken language are inseparable variables of linguistics. They are the very nature that make us the most special creature in the planet.

8 Responses to “Handwriting and Character”


  1. 1 colson January 31, 2008 at 2:40 pm

    As for my handwriting… Well, by the grace of technology I have been saved from a desperate life. First by the typewriter – the old one, the first Olympia I ever owned, still is in a place of honor in my office- and later on by the PC.

    I have to admit my personality matches the quality of my handwriting. Poor and ugly.

  2. 2 LB January 31, 2008 at 10:20 pm

    I think the years spent on the keyboard has a very detrimental effect on my handwriting, but when I do really have to write something with a pen, it is special! Especially addresses on envelopes! :-)

  3. 3 Sandy (Momisodes) February 1, 2008 at 12:06 am

    oh man…my handwriting definitely reflects my personality- messy and illegible.

  4. 4 happysurfer February 1, 2008 at 4:26 am

    I think there is a correlation between handwriting and character – and both can change over time. I read that to improve memory, try to dot the i’s as near as possible to the stroke and cross the t’s as accurately as possible. And I think I have to start doing that. lol

  5. 5 Giddy Tiger February 5, 2008 at 3:07 am

    When someone’s handwriting changes, does this mean his/her personality has changed too?

  6. 6 happysurfer February 5, 2008 at 5:08 am

    Happy Chinese New Year, Andie, and may your new year be filled with much happiness, good health, more wealth and whatever you wish for. Keong Hee Huat Chai!!

  7. 8 misha February 14, 2008 at 9:51 am

    happy valentine’s day!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

